Cauli “flour” Pizza Crust

By default, “Foods & Nutrition” has become my area of expertise.  Each school year I teach 5-6 sections of this lab-based class.  That’s roughly 175 students who walk into my room the first day of class and think to themselves, “Why is this chubby lady teaching Foods & Nutrition?”  I’m not fishing, just stating what I know they are all thinking those important first few seconds after the bell. 

I’ve learned a lot by teaching this class, and try to apply what I teach to my everyday habits, in hopes that one day they won’t wonder why the nutrition teacher looks like she has no idea what she is talking about.  Making my goal to drop a few LBs before the 2011 school year, I started the “17 Day Diet”.  Basically a glorified Atkins Diet that weens you back onto carbs, helping you resist the urge to dive head first into a Krispy Kreme box.  Good diet, but planning meals that include ZERO carbs for 17 days is as enjoyable as watching others lick their lips after a cupcake on day 4.

Wallowing in my stomach pangs, I express my desire for a pizza to a friend.  She suggests I look up a recipe for a cauliflower pizza crust she’s heard others tell of.  Gross.  However, thinking myself a connoisseur of hiding veggies in unsuspecting foods, I did a little Googling.

Let me tell you, if you love the taste of crispy (almost over cooked) cheese like I do, THIS IS THE NO-CARB RECIPE FOR YOU!  I have made this recipe twice and I still cannot believe how delicious and non-cauliflower tasting it is! This dish has saved my life and help me lose 12 lbs. (It’s a start).

2 cups cooked cauliflower

2 cups mozzarella cheese

2 eggs

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 T oregano

Preheat oven to 450*. Chop cooked cauliflower in a food processor until grainy.  Squeeze as much water out of the “riced” cauliflower as possible.  Mix with remaining ingredients. 

Grease a spring-form pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.  Scoop half the mixture into pan and press down evenly.  Cook in oven for 15-20 minutes, or until cheese has browned.

Mine is a little on the yellow-side since I used Grandma's farm fresh eggs!

Remove spring-form ring, and flip the round onto a greased cookie sheet.  Cook for another 15 minutes.  Add your favorite toppings (go easy on the sauce and cheese) and broil until cheese melts. Repeat. Yields 2 personal pan pizzas. YUM!

I don’t think I’ll add this one to the recipe box for my students to perform in lab, since it is a bit time-consuming.  However, I will keep it on hand for any students who are allergic to gluten and are craving a delicious pizza…. just like I was!

Please excuse the over-used cookie sheet (yuck)

August 10, 2011. Healthy Stuff, Recipes.

One Comment

  1. It’s Tofu-riffic! « Adventures of a Modern Day Home Ec Teacher replied:

    […] I mentioned before how much I love food substitutions?  This summer, I posted a recipe for a pizza crust substitute when I was on a low-carb kick and now it’s time for a […]

What do you think?

Trackback URI

