Comfort Food: Mom’s Hamburger Supper

 

The first unit of most FACS classes begins with a unit about “WHY ARE YOU LEARNING THIS?’, so I’ve been talking a lot of about why we wear clothes (Fashion), live in houses (Interior Design), eat in restaurants (Culinary Arts) and today………..choose to eat certain foods (Nutrition).  One of those reasons being for Psychological reasons.  A big reason we eat certain foods is for the way they make us feel emotionally.  We can simply smell the food circling around the kitchen and it can take us back to a different time.

I made my favorite comfort food the other day after a friend gave me a whole lot of ground beef!  I never buy beef, so I took the opportunity to reminisce my favorite childhood meal: Mom’s Hamburger Supper.  She calls it Hamburger Dinner for 2 since she and my dad made it up when they were newlyweds and were flat broke.  That should answer the question of ingredients, there aren’t many!

Since I have never done things exactly the way my mom told me to, here is my version of her yummy, comforting meal!  Her version calls for a can of Cream of Mushroom soup instead of making the gravy from a roux: but that’s how I roll.

Hamburger Supper
1/2 pound ground beef
1 T flour
1 cup milk
 
1. Season the ground beef with Worcestershire sauce, chili powder & garlic powder.  Form into thin patties.
2. Fry patties in a skillet (cast iron preferably) on Medium heat until cooked thoroughly.  Remove to a paper towel lined plate.
3.  Remove enough of the grease until only 1 tablespoon or so remains, keep all the yummy crispies!
4. Make a roux: That’s fancy for stir in the flour until it forms a paste.  Keep stirring it around until you smell a nutty aroma and the paste is a little darker.Whisk in the milk and stir like crazy while the mixture heats up and thickens.
5.  Add the patties back to the skillet and let simmer 5 minutes.
6.  Serve with veggies and mashed potatoes!

 

September 1, 2011. Family Life, Recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

What do you think?

Trackback URI

