Design Your Way: Applique!

One of my recent obsessions has been applique.  Before my daughter was born, I appliqued the heck out of onesies and anything else I could get my needle through!  I was so in love with the homespun technique I taught it to my Fashion Design classes, and ever since it has also been their favorite project!  If you don’t know what on earth I am talking about, you do!  Applique is a traditional quilting technique that we have all seen for years, and has recently seen a revival in the DIY Movement.  Here are a few examples from my students last year:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
You will need:
Foundation (t-shirt, onesie, bib, ANYTHING)
Fabrics of choice (scraps and fat quarters work great!)
Embroidery Thread & Needle (Super Cheap!)
Fusible Webbing (“Wonder-Under” is my choice.  It’s in the fabric dept)
 
  1. Trace your design of choice onto Wonder-Under   
  2. Iron to wrong side of fabric 
  3. Cut out design   
  4. Remove paper and iron to t-shirt, etc  
  5. Sew a blanket stitch around the edges to attach the design and make it look super cute!

This links to my classroom webpage, the 3rd video is a quick tutorial on the whole process INCLUDING HOW TO SEW A BLANKET STITCH (and the lady is Australian which makes it even more entertaining!) http://centralfacs.wikispaces.com/Fashion+Design

January 10, 2012. Tags: . Fashion.

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie Tscherny replied:

    I’m impressed with your students work! They did a great job.

  2. DIY: Christmas Stockings « Adventures of a Modern Day Home Ec Teacher replied:

    […] The pattern calls for a heel and toe patch, but I threw those out and replaced them with appliqued designs (click the link on how to applique by hand from a previous lesson!).  Make sure to applique the designs you want BEFORE you sew the stocking […]

What do you think?

Trackback URI

