Pin #3 The “initial” project

Some pins come across the page and even after you save it your “wish list” you can’t get it out of your head: you’ve got to try it, make it or eat it ASAP!  This was one of those pins for me!  I was crazy disappointed when Hobby Lobby didn’t carry an oval frame in the size I needed, but I honestly didn’t want to spend more than $20 on this project in the first place.  So, I used a garage sale find from last weekend and my sweet skills as a former furniture painter/distresser (another random job I had in college) to make this project come in at less than $4.  It was an ironic journey to take an old picture frame that was scratched and faded, paint it like new, and then sand it down and wax it to look old again!  I still wish I had found a cheap oval frame, but I think my final outcome really spruces up my mantle.  I finally got to get rid of the random items I had above the fireplace – things I had put up there 5 years ago just to fill in space and have been driving me crazy ever since!  This week I am so thankful for pinterest because it has inspired me to make something that refreshes the style of one area of my home without forcing me to get out of my “too cheap to ever buy anything new” box!

The INSPIRATION

My INTERPRETATION

June 13, 2012. Interior Design, Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Stephanie replied:

    I love it, good job. The oval might have gotten off center and driven you crazy because it was crooked!

What do you think?

Trackback URI

