Pin #9: Welcome to Mrs. Dameron’s Room!

I haven’t created any new Pinspirations in a week or two because I’ve been busy (*cough*…..lazy).  Actually, I have been spending many an afternoon looking up new ideas and buying fabric.  I found a Fabric Outlet with $1.99 knit and I’ve been gathering ideas of what I can make so I can buy all the knit I need in one shopping trip.  Many a day dreaming session has been spent thinking about the projects I’m excited to start….a Nap Mat for Clara (I’ll post in a few days),  too many dresses and tops to count, Halloween costumes (so excited to make 2 coordinating costumes this year!) and of course…..CHRISTMAS DRESSES!  I know with school starting back I won’t have as much time to get crafty- because I’ll be teaching the future of America how to indeed be crafty themselves!  There’s that dreaded word……school.

Since school is starting back whether I like it or not, I have had many thoughts on how to dress up my room.  It is shockingly my 6th year of teaching and I have barely changed a decoration since I first moved in.  I have been eyeing some black and white chevron fabric for new curtains, and searching for cheap wall decor ideas.  I like my students to feel comfortable in my room,  but also inspired by pretty things.  One way I thought I could welcome my new students and let them know that the space they are about to enter can be a home away from home was with a wreath.  I have a zero dollar budget for room decorating, so I scrounged through what I had in my craft closet.  I amazingly found a letter “D” on clearance for $.64, revamped a grapevine wreath I have never used and was inspired by these sweet felt flowers.  Welcome to Mrs. Dameron’s room…….. when you enter this room you are safe, you are noticed, and you are loved.

July 29, 2012. I love my job!, Interior Design.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

What do you think?

Trackback URI

