My Obsession with Halloween

A devil complete with a goatee and a pitchfork, a Minnie Mouse with individually cut out polka dots since I’m sure the perfect fabric could not be found but had to be created, and my personal favorite………. a California Raisin.  Is this the beginning of a really bad joke?  No, it’s the vast repertoire of AMAZING Halloween costumes my mother made for me as a child.  If I could dream it up, she could create it.  And honestly, I don’t ever remember asking to be a certain character because her ideas were always amazing.  This began my obsession with Halloween, or costumes at least.

Clara’s first Halloween bore the challenge of a slightly mobile 7 month old baby.  I took this opportunity to create a Mermaid ensemble since she didn’t need the ability to move her legs.  All the kicking and struggling to get out just made the fins look more life-like 🙂

Her second Halloween was an omage to her favorite Sesame Street Character, Abby Cadaby.  Honestly, I just wanted to make her those sweet poofy pigtails and give her purple freckles.

Finally, this year was my first challenge of coordinating costumes with the addition of sweet baby Ruby.  I wanted to put her in a “sack” just like Clara was her first year…. so what better than a caterpillar!?  A Butterfly was the perfect companion.  And with lots of green and yellow Minky leftover from the Nap Mat, this pair of bugs only cost me about $10. 

The tutu was an afterthought when I realized how much Clara loved to dance around in one she had received from her Oma Janet.  My opinion of random tutu’s on costumes was similar to one of my favorite “Mean Girls” line.  You know, girls use Halloween as an excuse to wear lingerie and just pair it with animal ears.  I think mothers of little girls want an excuse for them to wear tutus, so we make them match any random costume.  Whatever….she looked super cute!

Ruby with the lady who started it all…Nana!  Hope I made her proud!

November 16, 2012. Family Life, Fashion.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

What do you think?

Trackback URI